I realized that I never formally introduced myself. I’m Mollie Armstrong, curatorial intern at the DCCA. I’m a junior Art History major with a minor in Material Culture Studies at the University of Delaware. Today, I want to share with you one of my favorite things about working on this Biennial. Can you take a guess?

The artists of course!

In preparation for the Biennial’s opening next week (its Friday, October 7th, in case you forgot), I’ve been talking to several of the artists about their work. They’ve all had some pretty interesting things to say, especially about the MFA. Over the next few weeks, I will be adding their interviews to our Artists Talk page. Although, you won’t have to wait long for a little taste of what’s to come. Here’s an excerpt from my conversation with Erica Prince.

Q: tell me a little bit about the ideas behind your work and what you hope to convey to your audience. How would you describe your art to someone who had never seen it?

EP:A lot of the ideas behind my work are focused around the idea of the utopian society. I think it’s important for art to be able to explore utopian ideals because that’s the only place they can exist. The primary piece that I am showing, Permission Granted, has 35 images in a grid installation. It contains imagery of architecture, landscape, invention, monument, celestial bodies, alchemical devices, etc. …..

Q: How has the MFA influenced your development as an artist and as a person?

EP:I’m still in the midst of it so it’s hard to have a completely clear perspective. It’s given me the opportunity to focus on my work without having a billion distractions. It has allowed me to figure out what I’m truly interested in, and I’ve started pursuing these things more intensely. I’ve developed a lot of respect for different types of work that I was never interested in before. When I came to Tyler I thought I knew what I liked and what I didn’t like, what was good and what was bad. But now, I am more curious about the wiggly line between “good” and “bad”. I’ve discovered that what I like and don’t like might be a little less concrete than I thought.

Find out what else Erica Prince has to say about Temple, the MFA, and her work on our Artists Talk page!

Supernova and Tower,  Erica Prince, 2011, Mixed media of paper

