Q:  Tell me a little bit about the ideas behind your work and what you hope to convey to your audience. How would you describe your art to someone who has never seen it?

SG: I often describe my practice as making art with whatever is laying around.  However, I try to impart upon the viewer a sense of potential for each object while also providing some kind of acknowledgement for the histories behind these materials.  Some of these histories are derived from the object’s/materials design, manufacturing, consumption, and post-consumption.

Q: Why did you choose to attend Carnegie Mellon University for your Masters of Fine Arts?

SG: Carnegie Mellon University is a school that is at the forefront of the conceptualization and development of technology.  I was intrigued at the prospect of immersing myself in an environment where science, art, and technology are encouraged to mix.

Q: Finally, what have you learned from both the M.F.A. and Carnegie Mellon’s M.F.A. program? 

SG: The challenges posed in striving for an MFA has deeply affected my perception of the hierarchies within academia.  I am grateful for the opportunity to make art and just as grateful for the opportunity to acquire two art related degrees.  CMU has given me an understanding about the complexities behind art pedagogy.  I hope to take this new understanding forward in my practice and also as an aspiring professor.

Don’t forget to visit our Artists Talk Page for the full interview.

 

